Birth Certificate and Immunizations
In accordance with state law, parents enrolling students MUST present a birth certificate, shot record, and proof of residence to school personnel. Within 30 days of the first day of attendance, all students entering school for the first time shall have completed or have started the course of immunizations for each of the following:
5 doses of Diphtheria, Tetanus, and Pertussis (DTP/DTaP). A booster dose must be given on or after the fourth birthday. Children receiving #4 DTP on or after the fourth birthday are not required to have #5.
4 doses of Polio vaccine. The fourth dose is required on or after the fourth birthday and before entering school for the first time.
2 doses of MMR (Measles, Mumps, Rubella). The first dose is required on or after the first birthday and there must be at least a 28 day interval between doses.
3 doses of Hepatitis B vaccine are required. The third dose shall not be given prior to 24 weeks of age if born on or after 11/17/2001.
2 doses of Varicella. The first dose is required on or after the first birthday and there must be at least a 28 day interval between doses. As of 7/01/2015, documentation of disease must include approximate date or age of infection and a healthcare provider signature.
1-4 doses of Haemophilus influenzae (Hib). If the first Hib is given on or after 15 months of age, the series is complete. If the fourth dose is given on or after 12 months of age, the series is complete. Dosage requirement may vary depending on the vaccine type and the age when receiving the first dose.
Note: No Hib is given after 5 years of age.
1-4 doses of Pneumococcal Conjugate is required for individuals born on or after 7/01/2015 and if younger than 5 years of age. If the first dose is given on or after 24 months of age, the series is complete. Dosage and interval requirements may vary depending on the age when receiving the first dose.
Note: Four-day rule applies to all required minimum ages.
North Carolina Health Assessment Transmittal Form January 2016rev
North Carolina Law N.C.G.S. § 130 A 440 (a) requires a health assessment for any child entering a North Carolina public school for the first time. The health assessment must be recorded on the NC Health Assessment Transmittal Form January 2016rev. Failure to submit documentation on the proper form within 30 calendar days of the first day of attendance will result in dismissal. The NC Health Assessment Transmittal Form January 2016rev may be found on the following webpage: http://healthservices.ccs.k12.nc.us/forms/.
Cumberland County Schools Confidential School Health Form Rev. 03/2018
Completing the CCS Confidential School Health Form gives us valuable information to help manage the health needs of your child while at school. Administration of Medication Parents must obtain a current CCS Physician’s School Medication Form from the school in order for personnel to administer prescribed medication. A pharmacy-labeled bottle with the correct dose, time, route, student, and medication is required and must match the information provided on the CCS Physician’s School Medication Form. All medication must be brought in and picked up by a parent or guardian. Refer to Cumberland County School Protocol for Administration of Medications for additional information. All CCS medical forms are available at http://healthservices.ccs.k12.nc.us/forms/.